Pacific Long Boarder Banner
Image 1 for West Australia and the Yallingup Malibu Classic – words & photos by Mick Marlin

The crew.

Image 2 for West Australia and the Yallingup Malibu Classic – words & photos by Mick Marlin

Ryan Clarke in the Open Men.

Image 3 for West Australia and the Yallingup Malibu Classic – words & photos by Mick Marlin

Emily Gibbs, Open Women.

Image 4 for West Australia and the Yallingup Malibu Classic – words & photos by Mick Marlin

Anthony Spencer, Ist Open Men.

Image 5 for West Australia and the Yallingup Malibu Classic – words & photos by Mick Marlin

Open Woman’s finalists L-R: Crystal Wallace 1, Sam Vanderford 3, Emily Gibbs 4, Zali Corry 5, Loz Williams 6, Georgia Young 2.

West Australia and the Yallingup Malibu Classic – words & photos by Mick Marlin

10 December 19

The 35th Yallingup Malibu Classic must make it one of the longest running surf contests in the country.

Started in 1994 by the “Bunch of Fun Locals” the first year was held in the biggest surf in its history. Only 37 of the 120 contestants entered the water!

This year was at the opposite end of the scale with a tiny swell and record low spring tides making dodging the reef the main spectator sport.

Nevertheless the vibe in the water and up on the hill was wonderful with a gaggle of longboarders from all over the state joining in the festivities and frivolity.

In the Open Men’s division, Trigg’s world class longboarder Anthony Spencer took the win from junior Jacob McIver with Ryan Clarke and Mark Madison runners up. These guys have excelled at a national level so look out for them at the next National Longboard Titles.

The Open Woman’s was hotly contested and some great surfing went down. Local Yallingup Surf School proprietor Crystal Simpson had a great win from multiple Australian champion and pro longboarder Georgia Young. Big wave supremo Sam Vanderford was third followed by the very stylish Emily Gibbs. This was a great win for Crystal as she rarely competes with the surf school and a young family taking up every moment.

The more senior women, the Over 35s were even more stoked than the younger ladies and while these four ladies prefer way overhead waves they still ripped in the tiny conditions.

Amanda Curley from Indian Ocean Longboard Club who was beach marshal for the first time  had a win from another big wave charger Sam Vanderford. Local Shae Sheridon was third while multiple Australian champion Clair Finnucaine who will paddle into anything came in fourth. Let’s hope the surf is big next year so these ladies can really charge.

The juniors put on a great show with another Indian Ocean member Jacob McIver beating Josh Morris-Palmer and Casey Hogan. Yet another Indian Ocean member Zali Corry, who also charges out at big Yalls won the Junior Girls. There’s a bright surfing future ahead for for these young guns who can ride any board in any size.

The Loggers featured a great bunch of retro stylists, all younger than the boards they were riding were based on. Jack Medland took it out from Jacob McIver and Evan ledger and Ryan Egan.

The newly reintroduced Eight Foot division filled up in record time showing there’s a lot of interest in ripping on a shorter board. Champion short(and long)boarder Archie Le Grice won the Open Eight Foot trophy from Jack Medland. The Over 45 Eight Footers  saw some older boys reliving their youth with some lovely single fin type styling. Local Carl Levi won from Banzai Baz McKinnon, another big hollow left aficionado.

The other divisions were won by: Ryan Egan (O40s), Kevin Anderson (O50s). Brett Merrifield (O55s), Barry McKinnon (O60s), Maurie Ebsworth (O65s) and Graham Walmsley (O70s). All proving that many a good tune is played on an old fiddle.

The Joy Boys won the Lindsay Thompson Memorial Teams Challenge for the umpteenth time.

The best wave went to Anthony Spencer, and best noseride to Jack Medland.

In the good vibe awards Marty Ferrier won the Tony for being Best Personality, Head Judge Geoff Oddy and Beach Marshall Amanda Curley took home the beautiful Dave Ellis Aloha trophies.

The Triple Crown, a combination of Geraldton, Whalebone and Yallingup longboard contests was won by Archie le Grice with Sam Vanderford taking home the newly created Over 35 Woman's trophy.

All up another fabulous end to the year. The committee will have to take notice of the popularity of the eight foot division and the amount of lady competitors.

A huge than you to all the sponsors, Volte Wetsuits, Richards Tyrepower, Holden Accountants, Funs Back Surf, Creatures of Leisure/Otis, West Side Commercial Interiors, Shaana Cafe, Chapstar Surf,  Barefoot Division, Stoke Physio, Yallingup Beach Holiday Park, Jarrad Foster Plastering, Salt merchant, City of Busselton.

Follow Indian Ocean Longboard Club on Facebook and we hope to see you on the first weekend in December next year. 



<< Previous   Print   Next >>

Please choose your region

Australia | US / Rest of the World

(Changing your region, will clear your cart)