Pacific Long Boarder Banner
Image 1 for Record crowds at two-day board shape-off celebration in Del Mar, CA

Record crowds at two-day board shape-off celebration in Del Mar, CA

8 May 18

A packed house at The Boardroom International Surfboard Show presented by US Blanks watched Travis Reynolds claim the 2018 Icons of Foam Tournament Shape-off. The shape-off competition featured six former champions, and two wildcards shapers, all attempting to replicate a series of surfboards designed by Foam honoree Marc Andreini.

“Wow. I'm blown away,” said Reynolds from Santa Cruz, “It means a lot to compete against these fine shapers... to have my family here... it's incredible. What an honor to win, and to compete against this crew of past champions. I've been thinking about our friend Chris Lundy who passed away recently. I dedicate this victory to Chris.”

The eight international shapers: defending champ Rex Marechal, Ricky Carroll, Wayne Rich, Stu Kenson, Roger Hinds, Matt Calvani, Bill Barnfield and eventual winner Travis Reynolds.

This year’s format consisted of man-on-man heats with single elimination:

Round one saw the competitors replicate an Andreini Michael Peterson inspired design, round two an Andreini Vaquero, and the final heat pitted #3 seed Wayne Rich vs. #8 seed Travis Reynolds as they each shaped an 11' Andreini glider.

US Blanks provided all the foam, and $1K was awarded to Reynolds in closely judged final, and Reynolds' name etched into the Tribute to the Masters Mike Marshall perpetual trophy.


* 6321 people attended 
* Barry Snyder won for Best In Show Airbrush and Jack Sabala for Best In Show Resin Color Work
* Hansen Surfboards and Dick Brewer Surfboards were honorable mentions in Best in Show
* 12 boards laminated on-site in the Douglas Surf Products lamination demo
* 131 boards were sold
* 10 boards given away
* 45 custom board orders written
* 74 rare and unique surfboards sold at California Gold Surf Auction. 

Shapers in attendance included: Renny Yater, Michael Saggus (from Australia’s Surf Empire), Jeff Timpone, Jojo Roper, Joe Roper, Dick Brewer, Chris Christenson, Malcolm Campbell, Chas Smith, Dave Parmenter, Carl Ekstrom, Steve Pendarvis, Cher Pendarvis, Sam Cody, Steve Walden, Randy French, Gregory Harrison, Sam George, Britt Merrick, Jon Pyzel and many others.


<< Previous   Print   Next >>

Please choose your region

Australia | US / Rest of the World

(Changing your region, will clear your cart)