Pacific Long Boarder Banner
Image 1 for 2020 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year

Ren McGann’s winning shot “The Right” – and in the eye of that beast is WA’s Dan Corbett, who’s also an exceptional longboarder

Image 2 for 2020 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year

Four more random shots from the Top 20. Dan's brother Mick Corbett in WA, Jamie Scott’s photo “I Can’t Hear You.”

Image 3 for 2020 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year

Tom Pearsall: “An Unusual Relationship”.

Image 4 for 2020 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year

Simon Punch: “Breathing”, with surfer Scott Whip Dennis.

Image 5 for 2020 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year

Peter Jovic: “No Looking Back”.

2020 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year

8 April 20

From Nikon Australia: Ren McGann was awarded the Surf Photo of the Year Award with his image ‘The Right’, while Andrew Kaineder was awarded the Nikon Surf Video of the Year for his piece, ‘Flow State’

Capturing the true intensity and beauty of the surf, these winners represent the very best in Australian surf photography and videography. 

Winner of the Surf Photo Ren McGann said, “It’s a great honour to have won amongst such talented artists for whom I have the greatest respect. I’m absolutely stoked to have taken out the title for 2020.”

Winner of the Nikon Surf Video of the Year Award, Andrew Kaineder said, “We’re lucky in Australia with our surf culture and it’s important we celebrate what we’ve got. Thankful to Surfing Australia and Nikon for hosting these awards year after year and cannot wait to get back creating in the ocean when the world is somewhat under control again.”

A panel of 10 high-profile judges from within the surfing industry including Nikon Brand Ambassador and seven-time World Surfing Champion, Stephanie Gilmore were tasked with selecting this year’s winners.  

Said Stephanie, “I really enjoyed being a judge this year. As a photographer myself, I was inspired by the calibre of entries which really demonstrated the unique, creative approach to capturing our beautiful ocean. Congratulations to everyone that entered. I hope the viewers agree with our final choice.”

Ren McGann will be awarded with the Nikon Z 6 kit, while Andrew Kaineder will take home the Nikon Z 7. The awards will be presented in late April in a television format that replaces the Surfing Australia Awards Night for 2020.

All finalists and winners can be viewed here.


<< Previous   Print   Next >>

Please choose your region

Australia | US / Rest of the World

(Changing your region, will clear your cart)