Expression Session winners Otis Carey and nine-year-old Bohdi Simon – who’d surfed Bells Beach for her first time. Pic: Surfing Victoria

Tuesday, 24 May 2016

Bells Beach: Summer Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) has taken out her second consecutive Open Women’s title and Tom Avery (Lismore, NSW) has won the inaugural Longboard division at the Australian Indigenous Surfing Titles today at Bells Beach.
The 14 year old, took out the Open Women’s final with a total of 11.33 points over Leilani Smith (Kincumber, NSW) who amassed 8.50 points.
“I feel super stoked. I was just happy to be out there at Bells with all of the girls, winning was just a bonus,” said Simon.
“All of the culture and the history of the event and the area makes this event so special. I’m looking forward to coming back next year and having even more girls compete!”
Placing in third and fourth were Jasmin McCroquodale (Bateau Bay, NSW) and Jalaan Slabb (Fingal Head, NSW).
The Inaugural Longboard Division saw Tom Avery take out the win in the small conditions.
“I’m really happy to win the Longboard division down here on the land of the Bunjil. It has been a long few days with a lot of heats!”
“Everyone here is connected by the salt water,” continued Avery.  “It provides health and healing and allows us all to come together to have a good time.”
Placing in second was Robbie Page (Kempsy, NSW) with Rhys Collins (Red Hill South, VIC) and Ash Zunker (Bargara, QLD) in third and fourth respectively.
The HeadSox Expression Session winners were also awarded with Best Move going to former event champion Otis Carey (Coffs Harbour, NSW) and Best Moment going to Bohdi Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) who surfed Bells Beach for the first time at the age of Nine years old.
Full results can be followed online here
The event is held from May 20th – 22nd at Bells Beach on Victoria’s Surf Coast.
The Australian Indigenous Surfing Titles is presented by HeadSox, VicHealth, Play it Safe by the Water, The Victorian Government and supported by Surfing Australia, Surfing Victoria, Narana Aboriginal Cultural Centre, Wathaurong Aboriginal Cooperative, NITV, Telstra, Coastalwatch Plus, ESA, Farm Foods and the Hurley High Performance Centre.
  - Author: Liam Robertson, Surfing Victoria

Open Women’s Final

1st Summer Simon,
2nd Leilani Smith,
3rd Jasmine McCroquodale,
4th Jalaan Slabb,
Longboard Final
1st Tom Avery,
2nd Robbie Page,
3rd Rhys Collins,
4th Ash Zunker,

Ash Zunker, down from Bagara in the mid north of Queensland. Pics: Surfing Victoria
Some of the crew (the champs got paint).
1988 Pipe Master, Robbie Page.
Longboard finalists: Ash Zunker, Tom avery, Rhys Collins, Robbie Page.


About Us >> Contact Us >> Terms & Conditions >> Unsubscribe >> Copyright Surf Media Pty Ltd