Thursday, 6 December 2012

With some unexpected results in the Open Womens division and a perennial winner of the Open Mens stepping up again for the 7th time, the 2012 HIF Yallingup Malibu Classic was won and run last weekend (December 1&2. On Saturday the surf was running at 4-5ft and on Sunday the swell dropped to 2 foot.

Pre contest favorite Georgia Young from WA having just competed in the Womens World Longoard Titles in China and coming equal 5th , gave her the expected favoritism going into the event. There was going to be plenty of competition from another local champion Claire Finucane and several surfers from the eastern states including former Australian Champion Rosie Locke up and coming young gun Sam Suendermann.
As the competition progressed there were upsets in both the men and women divisions. Both Georgia Young and Claire Finucane were bundled out in the open womens semi finals and Dan Corbett current state open men champion also went out in the semi finals.

The Open Men Final was contested by Justin Redman, Rahn Goddard, Hamish Gibson and Brett Mason. In a hotly contested final Justin Redman came through to win the open men division for a 7th time with Brett Mason finishing in second, Rahn Goddard in third and Hamish Gibson in fourth.

The Open Women final saw Rosie Locke QLD place her authority on the contest winning from Sam Suendermann VIC, with Julia Magliano NSW in third, and Lucy Small WA in fourth. Sam Suendermann was a stand out through the competition being awarded the wave of the competition scoring 9.25 from a possible 10. The Junior men was won by Hugh Mitchell from Mitch Corbett second, Luke Burton third and Zac Arena- Foster in fourth. Hugh Mitchell is showing great promise at the age of 15 and was able to just nudge Mitch Corbett into second place.

The age divisions again hotly contested by all comers. The results are as follows;

Over 40 Men    1st Adam Lane, 2nd Adam Le Cornu, 3rd Jason Weeks, 4th Doug Carruthers
Over 45 Men    1st Kevin Anderson, 2nd Doug Carruthers, 3rd Steve Rayner, 4th Tony Turner.
Over 50 Men    1st Glenn Solomon, 2nd Ken Jarvis, 3rd Tony Turner, 4th Lou Corkhill.
Over 55 Men    1st George Micallef, 2nd Bill Gibson, 3rd Gary Tucker, 4th Vin Williams.
Over 60 Men    1st Graeme Wlmsley, 2nd Tony Harrison, 3rd Ian Morris, 4th Jon Dadd
Teams        Pacific Finance Australia

The organisers would like to acknowledge the sponsors for their generous support, HIF (Health Insurance Fund of Australia), West Surf Products, Richards Tyrepower, Pacific Finance Australia,Creatures of Leisure, Global Surf Industries, Yallingup Surf Company, Pt Bouvard Homes, newhomesguide.com.au, Westside Commercial Interiors, SRB Legal, Yallingup Beach Holiday Park, Yahoo Surfboards, Professionals Dunsborough, Western Pacific Financial Group, Holden Accountants, Funs Back Surf, Run Wild Surf.

Without the support of these sponsors this event wouldn't be possible. We thank them for their generous support.      
- report by Phil Corbett

Mitch Corbett digging Yallingup
Sunday was smaller - Rosie Locke stlyin'
Ex Oz Champ Justin Redman


About Us >> Contact Us >> Terms & Conditions >> Unsubscribe >> Copyright Surf Media Pty Ltd